Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Westfield wrestlers

The Westfield Razorbacks got off to a good start at the Dave Scharberg Memorial Invite on Saturday, Dec. 14, but eventually they settled for third place after dropping their last two matches.

            Despite the 1-2 record, Head Coach Shane Masching said his team had a good day overall.

“Our team looked very good today. I feel like our conditioning is good and our younger kids are stepping up their game,” he said.

In addition to the younger kids stepping up, he was pleased with how his whole team performed against Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton (WEM/JWP).

“Our match against Waterville was very physical. We pinned where we needed to,” he said. “They were doing the little things right during the matches.”

 However, against their last two opponents, it was more difficult for the Razorbacks to succeed, especially since some of the youngest wrestlers didn’t compete.

“Against Byron and Dover-Eyota, we were wrestling underclassmen, especially when we wrestled Dover. We sat three kids [who wrestle at] 106, 113, and 120. We have seventh-graders there. They stepped up and did a great job when we thought it was appropriate to wrestle them against Byron when their opponent was the same age or close,” he said.

While the Razorbacks didn’t have the team success they were hoping for, Masching mentioned there were a couple individual Westfield wrestlers who had undefeated days.

“We had two kids go 3-0 during the day, Tyler Archer and Dylan Nirk,” he said. “Also, we had a seventh-grader, Hunter Simonson, get a pin for us at 106. [It was] great momentum for our team.”

On the other hand, he said there’s plenty of room for improvement.

“We need to do a better job getting out on the bottom. We have a lot of time, it’s early yet,” Masching said. “Overall, I believe we had a lot of things go right and I'm proud of the team. I preach to them that it is all about doing the little things right!”

The Razorbacks next opportunity to do the little things right is when they travel to Rochester for a tournament at Rochester Community and Technical College at 2 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 20.

Westfield 42, WEM/JWP 31: 106  — Hunter Simonson (BP) won by forfeit open 6-0. 113  — Lucas Morsching (WEM) pinned Breanna Subbert 2-7/2:37. 120  — Bo Zweiner (BP) dec. Gavin Krause 4-2. 126  — Lane Lembke (BP) won by forfeit open 6-0. 132  — Keegan Bronson (BP) pinned Cody Codwin 2-0/1:19. 138  — Tucker Rients (WEM) won by forfeit open 0-6. 145  — Jack Cahill (WEM) dec. Sam Skillestad 5-10. 152  — Kurtis Crosby (WEM) maj. dec. Cody Nirk 1-12. 160  — Ethan Rider (WEM) pinned Bradley Simon 0-2/1:25. 170  — Tyler Archer (BP) dec. Ted Carlson 6-1. 182  — Dylan Enmke (BP) pinned Zeke Peterson 4-1/1:59. 195  — Sam Carlson (WEM) won by forfeit open 0-6. 220  — Colton Krell (BP) pinned Jaden Taylor 7-1/2:59. 285  — Dylan Nirk (BP) pinned Mike Sheehy 2-0/1:46. 

Dover-Eyota 51, Westfield 23: 106  — Bolton Thesing (DE) won by forfeit open 0-6. 113  — Bolton Thesing (DE) won by forfeit open 0-6. 120  — Landon Lehnertz (De) won by forfeit open 0-6. 126  — Lane Lembke (BP) maj. dec. Jackson Welsh 16-1. 132  — Gavin Gust (DE) won by forfeit open 0-6. 138  — Treyton Thesing (DE) dec. Keegan Bronson 0-5. 145  — Taylor DeFrang (DE) pinned Sam Skillestad 0-2/0:56. 152  — Aidan Gasper (DE) pinned Bradley Simon 3-6/3:45. 160  — Tyler Archer (BP) pinned Tyler Mix 4-0/3:32. 170  — Tyler Shea (DE) pinned Matthew Pryor 0-5/2:59. 182  — Gavin Dabelstein (DE) pinned Dylan Ehmke 0-1/3:49. 220  — Colton Krell (BP) pinned Reece Lemke 6-1/1:03. 285  — Dylan Nirk (BP) pinned Spencer Welsh 2-0/1:51.

Byron 54, Westfield 27: 106  — Hunter Simonson (BP) pinned Austin Langworthy 0-2/1:10. 113  — Gavin Bartel (B) pinned Breanna Subbert 2-0/0:35. 120  — Jake Thompson (B) won by forfeit open 6-0. 126  — Maxwell Petersen (B) pinned Lane Lembke 14-3/2:36. 132  — Keegan Bronson (BP) pinned Eli Haight 0-2/3:48. 138  — Parker Kline (B) won by forfeit open 6-0. 145  — Seth Haight (B) pinned Sam Skillestad 6-2/3:32. 152  — Wyatt Nemecheck (B) pinned Bradley Simon 4-2/3:13. 160  — Tyler Archer (BP) dec. Will Wharton 2-7. 170  — Kyle Stahler (B) pinned Matthew Pryor 2-0/0:23. 182  — Dylan Ehmke (BP) pinned Kaleb Kraetsch 0-2/0:23. 195  — Beau Lorenton (B) won by forfeit open 0-6. 220  — Vicente Deleon (B) dec. Colton Krell 13-12. 285  — Dylan Nirk (BP) pinned Carter Geerts 0-2/0:23.


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on the latest news!

Manage my subscriptions